Famicom Family Basic question

Started by Protoboy, July 11, 2014, 07:12:52 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Protoboy

Hey all, I'm new to the Famicom scene, but I'm very interested in collecting a Family Basic for my Famicom. My question is, did Nintendo ever release a SKU of a Family Basic combined with V3 in the same package?

Also, does V3 render the black Family Basic cartridge obsolete in features? Can I do everything the black cartridge can but more or are both needed to get all the features?

Last but not least, was V3 only packaged in an open-face cardboard tray with the programming manual? I'm having trouble finding pictures of the packaging so I'm making sure I'm buying a complete version and not missing and manuals or packaging. Thank you so much!

UglyJoe

Quote from: Protoboy on July 11, 2014, 07:12:52 pm
Also, does V3 render the black Family Basic cartridge obsolete in features? Can I do everything the black cartridge can but more or are both needed to get all the features?

I'm not positive about the CIB packaging, but this one I can answer.

The V2 cartridge (or V2.1 -- it's the black cartridge) had a few "extra" modes for doing computer-esque things.  This includes a basic text editor, music composer, and calculator.  V3 gets rid of these and dumps you straight to the BASIC prompt.  V3 also adds more memory, a few more BASIC commands, and packs in three built-in BASIC games (which you can load and then edit).

So, V3 is pretty much the better version, although V2 is easier to find and still pretty capable.  One bad thing about V3 is that the manual that comes with it is more like an addendum to the V2 manual, rather than a full-blown manual.  You can find both manuals on the forums here, though (the V2 one even has an English translation).

Protoboy

Thank you very much AngryJoe! It's awesome there's an english translation here, I will definitely use it!