Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 18, 2014, 07:38:30 PM
Home Famicom World Search Calendar Login Register

+  Famicom World
|-+  Family Computer
| |-+  Famicom / Disk System (Moderators: manuel, MaxXimus, The Uninvited Gremlin, L___E___T)
| | |-+  FDSloadr (transfereing .FDS to RAM adapter) always produces Error 27 or Error 22
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: FDSloadr (transfereing .FDS to RAM adapter) always produces Error 27 or Error 22  (Read 205 times)
XC-3730C
Famicom
**
Posts: 53



« on: December 01, 2014, 12:24:53 AM »

I have a PC running DOS (500mhz) with a built in parallel port (the only choices are transfer only, ECP and bi-directional, so I chose ECP and IRQ 7). I plug the FDSloadr cable straight into my PC's parallel port.

I follow this guide to the T:


http://www.famicomdisksystem.com/tutorials/disk-writing/writing-disks-with-fdsloader-and-disk-keeper/

I am just trying to play games from my PC's parallel port to my RAM adapter via my FDSloadr cable, but I always get an Error 27 or Error 22. I have tried multiple .FDS images, but no luck.  

What can be done? I have google'd this subject, but there doesn't seem to be a definitive answer to this problem.

Any help is appreciated.
Logged
80sFREAK
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 2227


« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2014, 12:55:04 AM »

Check the ground between PC and RAM adaptor. ERR.27 is CRC error, so data corrupted at some stage.
Logged

I do not have paypal, facebook, twitter accounts. Don't ask me why.
XC-3730C
Famicom
**
Posts: 53



« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2014, 12:58:28 AM »

Sorry, I am not a techie. what do you mean, the ground?
Logged
80sFREAK
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 2227


« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2014, 01:10:53 AM »

Well, you have to be. Check ground, shielding and all your soldering.
Logged

I do not have paypal, facebook, twitter accounts. Don't ask me why.
XC-3730C
Famicom
**
Posts: 53



« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2014, 01:12:50 AM »

I didn't make the cable. I bought it from someone. I haven't used it in years, but it did once work with a PC that I no longer have.
Logged
80sFREAK
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 2227


« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2014, 01:14:46 AM »

So it might be PC after all. Is it desktop or laptop?
Logged

I do not have paypal, facebook, twitter accounts. Don't ask me why.
XC-3730C
Famicom
**
Posts: 53



« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2014, 01:16:19 AM »

It's a Fujitsu Stylistic LT C-500. It's basically a tablet, but runs Windows 98 and 2000 (dual boot). Of course for this task, I boot into DOS
Logged
80sFREAK
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 2227


« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2014, 01:31:11 AM »

It might be problem with your PC. Voltage levels at LPT port.
Logged

I do not have paypal, facebook, twitter accounts. Don't ask me why.
P
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
Sweden Sweden
Posts: 1613


« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2014, 08:36:42 PM »

I never seen a tablet with LPT port. Anyway I've been told that laptops often have slightly non-standard LTP ports with different voltage and what not like 80sFREAK is saying. You might have to try another computer.
Logged

ebinsugewa
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 37



« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2014, 10:41:28 PM »

laptops often have slightly non-standard LTP ports with different voltage and what not like 80sFREAK is saying. You might have to try another computer.

I've seen this mentioned quite a few times in FDSloadr guides. This is likely the problem.
Logged
P
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
Sweden Sweden
Posts: 1613


« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2014, 03:45:16 PM »

LOL Three people saying the exact same thing!
Logged

XC-3730C
Famicom
**
Posts: 53



Re:
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2014, 04:42:54 PM »

Yea I am probably just gonna have to break down and get a cheap old school PC with built in parallel port.

Strange because I tried my same setup with my Dell Optiplex 755  desktop PC (has a built in parallel port, set to EPP) , and it's the same thing...
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!