Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 24, 2014, 01:39:23 PM
Home Famicom World Search Calendar Login Register

+  Famicom World
|-+  Family Computer
| |-+  Technical & Repair Assistance (Moderators: manuel, MaxXimus, The Uninvited Gremlin, L___E___T)
| | |-+  Running AV Famicom and Super Famicom in Australia
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print
Author Topic: Running AV Famicom and Super Famicom in Australia  (Read 3897 times)
theamity9
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Australia Australia
Posts: 50



« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2012, 08:52:46 PM »

The only problem I have with that solution is that I don't have one. And buying one off eBay once considering price + shipping is roughly $20 for one .(meaning $40 for both of mine). I would like 2, 1 for each of my Fami's. And the step-down can take 2 at once so it's perfect. Also I'm lazy with my setup, I hate changing cables so I got one massive AV Switch by my retro game setup, and a whole ton of power strip boards. Just the thought of having to change the power adapter from system-to-system discourages me. Tongue

And once considering shipping, a step down will be $30 so it's "cheaper" to me.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2012, 09:02:05 PM by theamity9 » Logged
The Uninvited Gremlin
Global Moderator
Sharp C1
*****
England England
Posts: 2347


Would you trade that cookie for this key?


« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2012, 10:11:50 PM »

I even use a Step Down Converter, to take 110v to 100v as I am massively worried about harming my SuFami and AV Famicom.
Logged

I am also a member of these forums:
Dreammary (NintendoAGE.com, AtariAGE.com, PlanetVB.com)
Frank_fjs
AV Famicom
****
Gender: Male
Australia Australia
Posts: 432


« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2012, 11:28:38 PM »

I even use a Step Down Converter, to take 110v to 100v as I am massively worried about harming my SuFami and AV Famicom.

Totally not necessary you know.

The power from your wall would jump up/down by 20V anyhow.
Logged
The Uninvited Gremlin
Global Moderator
Sharp C1
*****
England England
Posts: 2347


Would you trade that cookie for this key?


« Reply #18 on: June 25, 2012, 11:30:27 PM »

I don't like any possible risk.
Logged

I am also a member of these forums:
Dreammary (NintendoAGE.com, AtariAGE.com, PlanetVB.com)
theamity9
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Australia Australia
Posts: 50



« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2012, 01:53:47 PM »

I think your 110 => 100 would be redundant since electronics can take a bit of range of voltage than what they state. 
Logged
2A03
Twin Famicom
*****

Posts: 533

Gone from FW


« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2012, 07:39:35 PM »

I don't like any possible risk.
I've run Japanese power supplies for years and I've never had one fail due to the different voltage. If you're that worried just use American equivalents instead of buying a stepdown converter. A model 1 Genesis power supply will work nicely with both the Famicom and Super Fami.
Logged
theamity9
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Australia Australia
Posts: 50



« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2012, 03:07:31 PM »

I might as well keep my question so I don't need to make a new topic for it. Is it safe (and will it work) to have a multi strip power board running off the step down? For now my setup is:

Code:
1. Power Outlet (wall)
      2. Step-down
           3.1. Famicom
           3.2. Super Famicom

I want to eventually get a Japanese 64 so I can run the N64DD, and the step down only has 2 outputs. So to avoid buying another step down could I have this sort of setup:

Code:
1. Power Outlet (wall)
      2. Step-down
           3. Multi strip power board
                  4.1. Famicom
                  4.2. Super Famicom
                  4.3. JPN N64

Hope that made sense.
Logged
133MHz
FW Staff
FamicomBox
*****
Gender: Male
Chile Chile
Posts: 3442



WWW
« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2012, 06:27:19 PM »

It is perfectly doable and safe as long as you don't exceed the capacity of your step-down transformer. Nintendo consoles are pretty low power devices so with a 100W rated or higher transformer you should be good to go with plenty of room to spare if you decide to get more consoles. Wink

In fact that's the setup I use on my entertainment center: (Chile 220V~ 50Hz / NTSC-M)



The surge protector on the left goes straight to the wall and runs all the 220V devices (TV, sound system, cable box, etc).
The surge protector on the right goes through a big 220-110 transformer (conveniently hidden behind the cabinet) and it powers my JP/US gaming systems among other 110V-only devices (like my DVD recorder).

I suggest you to get a US power strip to keep it all clearly separated and avoid any possible mistakes, but most likely you won't find one in your local market, so if you buy your step-down transformer online, you should order a US power strip as well.
Logged

Terpor
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Finland Finland
Posts: 80



WWW
« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2012, 06:02:43 PM »

So can you use Pal Megadrive power adaptor on Super Famicom?
Logged

That Guy
Lum
Disk System
***
Posts: 187


datcha


WWW
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2012, 08:11:15 PM »

Yes that's ok. If you have the Mega CD or Master System adaptors it's fine too.
Logged

*bzzzt*
theamity9
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Australia Australia
Posts: 50



« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2012, 07:02:08 AM »

@133MHz Thanks buddy, you're a world of help. Smiley
Logged
Lum
Disk System
***
Posts: 187


datcha


WWW
« Reply #26 on: June 30, 2012, 11:32:31 AM »

step downs belong on consoles with unique or internal power supplies. Whose input ratings can't be met through conventional methods.
Saturn, PC-FX, or FM Towns Marty, I can understand going through this effort.

It's a total waste for something with adaptors as commonly found as n64 and famicom.
Logged

*bzzzt*
2A03
Twin Famicom
*****

Posts: 533

Gone from FW


« Reply #27 on: July 01, 2012, 06:57:54 AM »

step downs belong on consoles with unique or internal power supplies. Whose input ratings can't be met through conventional methods.
Most should actually be OK, especially the Saturn which uses the exact same power supply board between the US and Japanese models. I have a friend who has an X68000 XVI and it runs just fine on 110-120V despite it having one of the most unreliable internal power supplies of any console or vintage computer.
Logged
security16
Twin Famicom
*****
Gender: Female
Australia Australia
Posts: 781



« Reply #28 on: July 02, 2012, 06:25:25 AM »

I got one of those multi adapter jobs from Jaycar though i'm not sure it's doing the job properly for my famicom. The superfamicom is quite happy to function fully with the power cable from my PAL SNES. Weather or not this is healthy for it is a different matter. The original famicom though tend to die a horrible death using an NES power adapter. 
Logged
Frank_fjs
AV Famicom
****
Gender: Male
Australia Australia
Posts: 432


« Reply #29 on: July 02, 2012, 12:40:54 PM »

The superfamicom is quite happy to function fully with the power cable from my PAL SNES. Weather or not this is healthy for it is a different matter. The original famicom though tend to die a horrible death using an NES power adapter. 
PAL SNES PSU puts out AC whereas the Famicom is expecting a DC input. I'm surprised that the Super Famicom can accept it.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!