Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 25, 2018, 10:15:27 PM
Home Famicom World Search Calendar Login Register

+  Famicom World
|-+  Family Computer
| |-+  Technical & Repair Assistance (Moderators: manuel, L___E___T)
| | |-+  Famicom Problem
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6 Print
Author Topic: Famicom Problem  (Read 20353 times)
JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« on: September 01, 2012, 10:22:18 PM »

So, I decided to sit down for about an hour or so with my new Famicom. All seems to be well until I saw this thing every so often(twice in two uses which totaled about two hours) where the screen would turn black for a few seconds with a white line(like when an old TV dies out or turns off) and then comes back on like I just changed a channel or something. The Famicom doesn't lose power or nothing. It's the video that goes out.

I'm using Channel 96, Famicom Channel set to 2, using NES RF Switch, and Famicom AC Adapter. I didn't play carts during this time. Just Zelda 1 and 2. What could be the cause? I'm guessing the RF Switch, but considering my trouble with the two games for the disk system, could it be a bigger problem than just a RF switch?
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 10:36:07 PM »

Yeah. I'm using my HDTV. Haven't had a problem with anything else. Hell, I didn't even use my RF but a few times and it worked every time.
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2012, 11:02:40 PM »

Randomly. I took some video also of the other problem I was having. I'll put them in another thread.
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
ericj
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 2433



WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2012, 11:20:18 PM »

Could also be interference from something else near your house or TV that's causing the problem.
Logged

JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2012, 11:34:55 PM »

Also, I shot these as well. This is the disk system trouble I was referring to as well as something I saw on the BIOS and Mario 3 cart that I don't know if that's classified a problem or not.\

The first one is something I saw on the BIOS that I also saw in a cart, but I don't know if that's a problem. But the Pro Wrestling and Super Mario Bros. 2, I know ARE real problems.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/44664017@N05/7909716418/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/44664017@N05/7909749160/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/86344528@N05/7909832622/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/86344528@N05/7909839190/
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
HokusaiXL
Disk System
***
United States United States
Posts: 102


Quack


« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2012, 11:48:37 PM »

Mario 3 does that regardless, it's the game not your system.  It even does that emulated and on virtual console ports.
Logged

I don't know how to fox. D:
JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2012, 11:49:31 PM »

Okay, so that's not a problem. What about Mario 2 and Pro Wrestling?
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
HokusaiXL
Disk System
***
United States United States
Posts: 102


Quack


« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2012, 11:51:22 PM »

That I honestly couldn't tell you.  My Mario 2 doesn't do it and I don't have Pro Wrestling to test.
Logged

I don't know how to fox. D:
JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2012, 01:52:33 PM »

That's how it is for Mario 2 period on there, camera pointing at screen or not. It's that giant square block where his leg is supposed to be. At one time, I had a Twin Famicom and a NEW copy of Mario 2 and it NEVER did that.
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2012, 06:32:05 PM »

So it would still be the case even though it works without error once in a blue moon? Also, couldn't it be a case of lost magnetism?
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
ericj
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 2433



WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2012, 07:52:26 PM »

If it works without error once and a while, then the disk is probably fine. Could be a dirty spot on the disk or more likely that the RAM adapter needs slightly repositioned. Have you tried gently tapping the RAM adapter when you see the problem (not enough to freeze the game) to see if the sprites "fix" themselves during gameplay?
Logged

JohnnyBlaze
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 229


The All-American Nightmare


WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2012, 08:29:00 PM »

Tap it how?
Logged

Famicom Disk System: The More You Play It, the More You'll Want to Play
ericj
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 2433



WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2012, 09:29:29 PM »

With your finger--gently tap the top of the RAM adapter.
Logged

ericj
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 2433



WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2012, 10:22:57 PM »

 
Why other games are fine?

Magic.  Roll Eyes

Basic troubleshooting instead of speculation never hurt, did it? I don't see why it's a bad idea to try, but if you can give a good reason, I'm all ears.  Wink
Logged

famifan
Twin Famicom
*****
Russian Federation Russian Federation
Posts: 933



« Reply #14 on: September 03, 2012, 06:56:59 AM »

Found adaptor with the same similar glitch in graphics - blinking sprites in the bodies of wrestlers. It is not related to contacts of slot.
do you know where the root of problem lays?
bad RAM?

what about replacing RAM on RAM-adapter with SRAM? is it possible to perform this without a lot of love and grey hair?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!