Famicom World

Misc. => Other Gaming => Topic started by: FAMICOM_87 on May 29, 2013, 08:35:10 PM



Title: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: FAMICOM_87 on May 29, 2013, 08:35:10 PM
Have you ever wonder how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800  :question:
So here you are:  ;D

This is powerpack on famiclone (not NOAC) with my hand-made 72 to 60 pin converter .
in that moment it was not perfect contact may be.But I couldn't repeat the same situation  :crazy:


(http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g113/IBMDOS/MODS/th_DSC00869_zps4e764f7d.jpg) (http://s54.photobucket.com/user/IBMDOS/media/MODS/DSC00869_zps4e764f7d.jpg.html)

(http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g113/IBMDOS/MODS/th_DSC00868_zps68eb782b.jpg) (http://s54.photobucket.com/user/IBMDOS/media/MODS/DSC00868_zps68eb782b.jpg.html)

(http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g113/IBMDOS/MODS/th_DSC00870_zps4495f748.jpg) (http://s54.photobucket.com/user/IBMDOS/media/MODS/DSC00870_zps4495f748.jpg.html)

(http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g113/IBMDOS/MODS/th_DSC00871_zpsc4e6bb46.jpg) (http://s54.photobucket.com/user/IBMDOS/media/MODS/DSC00871_zpsc4e6bb46.jpg.html)





Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: That Guy from Faxanadu on May 29, 2013, 09:11:54 PM
Seems like cool stuff! I don´t think I fully understand what you´ve created though. Is this a converter that makes Famicom games fit into an ATARI 7800 console?


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: FAMICOM_87 on May 29, 2013, 09:46:20 PM
Seems like cool stuff! I don´t think I fully understand what you´ve created though. Is this a converter that makes Famicom games fit into an ATARI 7800 console?

no no, it is just regular 72 to 60 pin convertor, this situation is just a glitch!  :D


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: That Guy from Faxanadu on May 30, 2013, 07:43:16 PM
Ha ha, then I get it! Nice glitch though  :)


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: FAMICOM_87 on June 20, 2016, 07:20:33 AM
I come across to this glitch again, this time with original PAL NES console and captured a game-play via capture card  :)   :gamer:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obuv6yAzSAw


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: MWK on June 21, 2016, 05:38:49 PM
I counter that with my Recca VCS glitch >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pr5Y3BIM_PA  8)


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: famifan on June 22, 2016, 01:04:26 PM
I counter that with my Recca VCS glitch >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pr5Y3BIM_PA  8)
dude, that was amazing! i wish i would be able to play the same way


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: FAMICOM_87 on June 22, 2016, 09:11:52 PM
there is more :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbvqD159RVY

again megaman 2600 glitch  ;D


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: FAMICOM_87 on July 11, 2016, 10:32:56 PM
I made more footage from this glitch  :o
enjoy   ;D :D

https://youtu.be/_jDojks0CaY

Game list:

Super Mario 1
Super Mario 2
Super Mario 3
Contra 1
Exitebike 1
Battle City
Unchained Melody MENU


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: AprkMk4 on September 02, 2016, 03:39:10 PM
Good.


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: FAMICOM_87 on February 10, 2019, 11:22:03 PM
 :D

So to trigger this glitch on Power Pack Just glue a piece of transparent tape here: (with help by krzy)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1uWmMxpuXuzS3O606wXDIM9IX_Yzq06bg
for the regular cartridges you have to connect this pin to VCC or GND and isolate it like above from the slot
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1_5BsJ_LuJ3yKOSEYV0NsAQEx7FqLsvvk

More info about this glitch by krzy

All NES graphics (named pattern tables) are stored as 8x8 tiles as described here:
http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/PPU_pattern_tables

So taking letter X as an example (dot . represents bit 0)
Code:

$0xx0 = 1.....1.
$0xx1 = .1...1..
$0xx2 = ..1.1...
$0xx3 = ...1....
$0xx4 = ..1.1...
$0xx5 = .1...1..
$0xx6 = 1.....1.
$0xx7 = ........


When you short A0 on the ROM side to GND you make PPU fetch from both odd/even ROM graphic address cell return the same value (from even cell). So when PPU tries to fetch from addresses:
$0xx0, $0xx1, $0xx2, $0xx3, $0xx4, $0xx5, $0xx6, $0xx7
it will instead get values from those cells:
$0xx0, $0xx0, $0xx2, $0xx2, $0xx4, $0xx4, $0xx6, $0xx6

And thus the mentioned letter X will look like:
Code:

$0xx0 = 1.....1.
$0xx0 = 1.....1.
$0xx2 = ..1.1...
$0xx2 = ..1.1...
$0xx4 = ..1.1...
$0xx4 = ..1.1...
$0xx6 = 1.....1.
$0xx6 = 1.....1.


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: togemet2 on February 12, 2019, 08:55:54 AM
This is really cool! I'm interested to see how Super Mario Bros 3 looks.  :o


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: FAMICOM_87 on February 12, 2019, 09:37:49 AM
This is really cool! I'm interested to see how Super Mario Bros 3 looks.  :o
check my video I posted it a few comments above  https://youtu.be/_jDojks0CaY


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: togemet2 on February 15, 2019, 03:47:23 AM
Haha. That's insane! I'll have to give this a shot myself sometime.

Good job on the find.  :o


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: nensondubois on February 18, 2019, 03:27:44 AM
Maybe if I had a powerpak I would consider performing this modification but definitely not on original carts.


Title: Re: how would Mega Man/Rock Man will looks on ATARI 7800 ?
Post by: P on February 18, 2019, 10:27:40 AM
Yeah me neither. I wouldn't like to make a permanent mod to make a glitch occur on purpose.