Thinking about quitting my evening job

Started by fcgamer, January 05, 2018, 08:42:26 am

Previous topic - Next topic

fcgamer

I've been working an evening job for about five years now, part time.  Initially I had worked once a week, then it progressed to two nights a week, and at its peak I was working three nights a week.  Then I moved up to the city and instead of being situated ten minutes away, am about 50 minutes away, via driving.  I'm back down to one day a week, and have a pay raise as well, due to the commuting time.

I've been thinking about putting in about a two-month's notice (finish out the teaching semester) for the class, and leaving.  This has been on my mind for quite some time, as I've gotten lazier about driving so far just for a 1.5 hour class, feel the extra time could be dedicated towards my writing, etc. However, my boss has a lot of contacts, so I've always felt that he's the type of guy it's useful to know, should you need something in the future.

I just returned to Taiwan from a holiday trip home to the USA, and a sub teacher had been teaching my evening class.  Apparently the boss really liked his style of doing things, and has asked me to teach the same way.  I really don't enjoy the idea of this, for several reasons, as it will create more hassels for me, as well as more work.  Previously, I could justify the travel time since the work was not very much.

It seems that this makes for the perfect reason to leave?  Or should I just keep working their indefinitely anyway? 
Family Bits - Check Progress Below!

https://famicomfamilybits.wordpress.com

fcgamer

Quote from: crazyjesse on January 05, 2018, 06:39:21 pm
I suppose it comes down to your alternatives. You say this is your evening job, so I suppose that means you have a day job as well.

If your job is a major contributor to your income, I wouldn't suggest suddenly quitting with no backbone just to make you feel better.