Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 16, 2018, 09:32:59 AM
Home Famicom World Search Calendar Login Register

+  Famicom World
|-+  Family Computer
| |-+  Technical & Repair Assistance (Moderators: manuel, L___E___T)
| | |-+  What Power Supply do I need to run a Sharp Twin Famicom?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Print
Author Topic: What Power Supply do I need to run a Sharp Twin Famicom?  (Read 2484 times)
P
FamicomBox
*****
Gender: Male
Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3228


« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2018, 01:42:57 AM »

The official AC-adapter is rated at 1.25 A, so 1 A might not be enough in all situations. For example If you are using lots of peripherals or flashcarts or so. Chances are that 1 A is enough though.
Logged

FAMICOM_87
AV Famicom
****
Gender: Male
Bulgaria Bulgaria
Posts: 369



WWW
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2018, 01:41:00 AM »

For an example I am using this power suplly on my Sega Mega drive 1 with no issurs and the console is rated 1.2A Smiley  Starman
Logged
P
FamicomBox
*****
Gender: Male
Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3228


« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2018, 08:45:22 AM »

I mean how much power it needs varies depending your situation. If you run into unexpected behaviour it may be due to insufficient power.

My Famicom is ok with 1 A with the Everdrive and external controllers and stuff, so I do think it is enough.
The disk drive part also draws power when reading or writing disks though.
Logged

Hamburglar
Disk System
***
Posts: 204


« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2018, 01:15:29 PM »

Here's the datasheet for the 7805 voltage regulator.

https://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Components/LM7805.pdf

It's rated to a minimum input voltage of 7V and a maximum of 25V.

No worries running at 9V, well within spec.

Twin Famicom does not have a 7805.
Logged
goosewerks
Famiclone
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2018, 11:28:54 PM »

I've used mine for years with 9v without issue. The voltage regulators are designed to take 9V and drop it down to 5v.

If it's dropping it down to 5v, could you add a micro USB port in the back connected to the power points of the original plug if your old PSU goes out?
Logged
famiac
Twin Famicom
*****
Gender: Male
United States United States
Posts: 890


« Reply #20 on: September 17, 2018, 03:54:32 AM »

Itís possible but you wonít be able to run it from a computer most likely. You might be able to run it off a tablet charger
Logged

member #844 and 565
Pages: 1 [2] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!