Famiclone coolbaby rs-37 not saving games

Started by infamouscom, November 10, 2021, 04:59:31 am

Previous topic - Next topic

infamouscom

Hi. Recently I got a chinese famiclone. It has been great to get the nostalgia from the 90's. With it, I got a multicartridge which is a 154 in one. It has a battery to save progress in a few games like Zelda, for example. But I never got to make it work.

I've already checked with a multimeter and the battery is full. When I press reset the game is still there, saved and I can continue my process. But if I turn down the system, it erases everything. I don't know if this is a problem with the cartridge or the famiclone, honestly. I also find it weird that the famiclone says it needs a 9v power plug and it came with a 6v one. But on a close look to the psu it looks it does work with a 5v input (feel free to correct me, I'm no expert in these matters)...

Sadly, for the moment, I have no more cartridges with battery to test. But maybe this is a know problem and you can clarify to me if this just normal with this type of famiclones. I'm uploading some photos of everything.

Thanks.

infamouscom

A few more photos, including the multicartridge board.

P

If a game doesn't save it sounds like a problem with the cartridge, but I don't know for sure. Retaining data over a reset is normal because the power isn't cut when you push RESET.

The main board itself (including the cartridge) uses 5 V but to get a stable 5 V supply it uses a voltage regulator (labeled 7805 on the board, three-legged black thing) as the AC-adapter can't provide a stable voltage supply alone. The 7805 voltage regulator requires a minimum of 7 V to work correctly though, so a 6 V AC-adapter sounds too stingy to me. Normally a 9 or 10 V AC-adapter is used with these systems.

emerson

November 13, 2021, 11:52:33 am #3 Last Edit: November 13, 2021, 11:59:14 am by emerson