Help needed: fixing an old SNES PowerPak

Started by Yukima, March 24, 2024, 11:44:00 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Yukima

Hello! I'm an old member of this forum from several years ago, and revived my account to ask a few questions...  :help:

I have a SNES PowerPak that I bought roughly 15 years ago (yikes) that I accidentally bricked while trying to a firmware update that failed, and it no longer boots up. I did some research, and according to this forum post it looks like it can be fixed by removing the boot ROM chip (if socketed) and reflashing it with the updated firmware. I opened up the cart shell and looking at the PCB, it looks like the boot ROM chip is socketed?

Is there anyone here who has the equipment needed to reflash the firmware onto this flash cart and get it working again? Alternatively, can anyone point me to where I can get the equipment needed to do this myself? I admit, I have no experience with programming and other similar stuff, so if that knowledge is required, I'm hopeless.  :-[

Of course, the best solution would be to just get another SNES flashcart. I bought an original Super EverDrive some years ago to replace the PowerPak, but it can't play any enhancement chip games. The PowerPak could play DSP1 games, at least. If it turns out I can't get the PowerPak fixed, I'll probably just save up to get an FXPak Pro. I wanted to at least try to get the PowerPak fixed first!

Sorry for the rambling, and thanks in advance!

P

Yeah that 39SF010A flash-ROM chip is indeed socketed so you just need some way to reprogram it with the right boot-ROM.