Help with Cathouse Famicom AV Mod

Started by Zainglorious, May 07, 2023, 05:53:24 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Zainglorious

Hello Famicom World folks,
I wonder if you have time to help out an absolute beginner in the world of hardware modding. I recently acquired an old HVC-CPU-07 Famicom and wanted to install the Cathouse AV mod. Unfortunately, I ordered the kit rather than the assembled board so I attempted to put it together on my own (you can see my brilliant work in the picture). Then I attempted to wire it all together according to the instructions and now when I switch on the Famicom all I get is a black screen. I see the screen flicker on both RF and AV when I turn on the power but no image at all.
Problem is I have no idea where to start troubleshooting due to my lack of experience with soldering. I was hoping the knowledgeable folks on this forum would be able to look at my work and let me know if it's my horrible wiring or which other things I can troubleshoot.
I would greatly appreciate any guidance I can get!

jpx72

First of all soldering smd components is very hard, when you don't have soldering skills. You could have done some error on the mini board, or kill one of the components by heat of the soldering iron.
Second, your wires have the un-insulated parts too long, check if they don't touch somethings they shouldn't.
Third, show a photo of your cinch, did you connect it correctly? Do you have ground connected?

Zainglorious

Quote from: jpx72 on May 07, 2023, 10:10:04 amThird, show a photo of your cinch, did you connect it correctly? Do you have ground connected?
You cannot see attachments on this board.
I didn't solder it, just connected them up to test.

Quote from: jpx72 on May 07, 2023, 10:10:04 amFirst of all soldering smd components is very hard, when you don't have soldering skills.