PAL-N Famiclone with generic 15-pin controllers unresponsive

Started by sys64738, January 31, 2024, 12:00:33 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

sys64738

Hi,

This is my first post here. I started to collect clones as I find the variety fascinating. I am relatively new to to NES/Famicom space. My last addition is from Argentina "SonSon Family Computer Game". It came with nothing. I connected a 10V 850mA 3rd party adapter meant for Genesis, and a pair of 15-pin generic controllers from AliExrpress. I set my TV to PAL-N. I got video and audio but no response from the controllers. What is my next move for troubleshooting? I have heard things like controllers being PAL/NTSC or region locked. Could it be the case? I have a small portable scope and a multimeter but not sure where to check. Thanks in advance.

Skawo

Check whether the controllers are wired up Famicom-style or Famiclone-style, because those are different, despite sharing the same plug.

https://www.nesdev.org/wiki/Controller_port_pinout
https://www.nesdev.org/wiki/Expansion_port

sys64738

Scope shows 60Hz for the CLK (pin 9) and OUT0 (pin 12) for the Player 1 port on the console. Does this mean it fits the general Famiclone schematics? The controller is wired to pins 1(Orange), 8(White), 9(Blue), 12(Brown), 15(Yellow) but I have no idea how to verify what standard the controller follows.

Skawo

EDIT:
Nevermind, it seems like the diagrams floating on the internet contradict one another, and I can't make out heads or tails of it all.
I did find this, though, which is a diagram showing how to wire up a controller to one of the Dendy clones

(looking at console port)

That seems to match what you're reading on the scope and checking the continuity on your controller.
So... hm.

I remember that I had a famiclone where the buttons of an official Hudson Joycard would only work while one of the D-Pad directions was being held. Is that the case for you?

sys64738