Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 20, 2019, 06:37:22 AM
Home Famicom World Search Calendar Login Register

+  Famicom World
|-+  Family Computer
| |-+  Technical & Repair Assistance (Moderators: manuel, L___E___T)
| | |-+  Gimmick repro with sunsoft 5PB
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6 Print
Author Topic: Gimmick repro with sunsoft 5PB  (Read 64676 times)
Pit
Disk System
***
France France
Posts: 128



« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2013, 06:24:40 AM »

 Cry I put again hebereke eprom, nothing works anymore. It's the second fme7 pcb that I supposely "killed" Fire! Red FC Cart. Nothing visually destroyed, all traces ok, eproms check ok...

I don't understand why it doesn't work. The cartmod with sunsoft 5B was a succes, but with a fme7 barcode world or dodge danpei 2, I can't manage to get gimmick jap work.

Gonna give up this for a while, time to calm down^^.
Logged
keropi
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
Greece Greece
Posts: 137



« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2013, 08:16:50 AM »

great work on the 5B cart!

I have made a Barcode World repro (with the valuable help of 80'sFreak) and it works fine... haven't tried it without the AY chip though... also there is no need at all to rewire the eproms, just solder them in place
Mine looks like that... a spaghetti monster  Grin but it fits just fine in the shell  Mario



Logged
Pit
Disk System
***
France France
Posts: 128



« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2013, 08:45:10 AM »

Thanks for pics !

I made exactly the same with two barcode world, no rewiring on eproms (27C020 for PRG and 27C1001 for CHR), the screen stays definitaly grey^^.

Your cartmod is nice ! eeproms used ?
Logged
keropi
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
Greece Greece
Posts: 137



« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2013, 11:34:09 AM »

thanks, yep I used SST eeproms, I was getting really annoyed by failing uv eproms...
not sure about the grey screen, maybe the AY "responce" is really needed  Huh
Logged
famifan
Twin Famicom
*****
Russian Federation Russian Federation
Posts: 934



« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2013, 08:14:50 AM »

Game can check presence of AY chip by writing/reading into it's registers.
ahaha Grin
sounds like it deserves some ROM patching

what do you think about the chance of crashing normal system operation by sending R/W commands to non-connected AY chip?
Logged
80sFREAK
Sharp C1
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1191

Hardware freak


« Reply #20 on: December 09, 2013, 08:27:16 AM »


Nice. But. A trick picked from... Drakon(?) LOL, but improoved - use paper masking tape over the contacts to protect them of tin, when soldering.

Hint

Logged

I don't buy, sell or trade at moment.
Pit
Disk System
***
France France
Posts: 128



« Reply #21 on: December 09, 2013, 12:51:06 PM »

Quote from: 80sFREAK

Nice. But. A trick picked from... Drakon(?) LOL, but improoved - use paper masking tape over the contacts to protect them of tin, when soldering.

Hint



Oh ! Seeing that I cleaned my cartmod connector with AY chip that didn't work, it works !  Cry Cry Cry Happy I am.


I have a little problem with the gimmick repro based on a sunsoft 5B, extra sounds seems to be a bit weak.

Seeing the sound mixer scheme, could I replace the 100K resistor with a lower value for example ?

Logged
keropi
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
Greece Greece
Posts: 137



« Reply #22 on: December 09, 2013, 07:05:56 PM »

[...]
Nice. But. A trick picked from... Drakon(?) LOL, but improoved - use paper masking tape over the contacts to protect them of tin, when soldering.

Hint



aha!
thanks for that, had no idea I could avoid such solder mess so easily Embarrassed
Logged
Pit
Disk System
***
France France
Posts: 128



« Reply #23 on: December 31, 2013, 11:51:22 AM »

great work on the 5B cart!

I have made a Barcode World repro (with the valuable help of 80'sFreak) and it works fine... haven't tried it without the AY chip though... also there is no need at all to rewire the eproms, just solder them in place
Mine looks like that... a spaghetti monster  Grin but it fits just fine in the shell  Mario






Keropi, I I don't understand your wiring Sad.

I explain :

- With a AY-3-8912, I made this scheme to make a gimmick! repro :





- When I look at your repro, I see that :



Am I wrong ?
Logged
Elrinth
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 96



WWW
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2014, 05:48:43 PM »

@keropi: I so happen to have a barcode world extra with an FME-7. Where did you get a AY chip however?
Logged
keropi
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
Greece Greece
Posts: 137



« Reply #25 on: January 11, 2014, 09:45:47 PM »

@Pit:

that's another 3k3 resistor to lower the volume , here is the schematic I used:



not my image, I believe a member(s?) here has done that but I can't remember who


@Elrinth

I got it from a friend that was selling various chips...  but there are 2 sales here and here
Logged
Elrinth
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 96



WWW
« Reply #26 on: January 11, 2014, 11:48:16 PM »

@keropi: thx for the reply, sadly that forum requires alot of work in order to actually be able to PM people or post in threads.
But on ebay I found this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/AY-3-8912-Programmable-Sound-Generator-Microchip-DIP28-IC-1pcs-/261337774593?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cd8f1fa01
Will it do?
Next up I'll need an programmer, do you have any to recommend which is pretty cheap? Would like one which can take both eprom and eeprom. Need to be able to program the ay-chip and also program some new chips for the gimmick prg and chk, right?
Logged
keropi
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
Greece Greece
Posts: 137



« Reply #27 on: January 12, 2014, 09:03:03 AM »

Well, it's not that bad... I've activated your account there and you only need to make a couple of posts to be able to PM (user introduction forum is a great way to get 2 posts)
That eBay link looks fine, I don't see why this 38912 wouldn't work  Grin
Actually the 38912 doesn't need to be programmed by the user at all, "programmable" means that the host environment can give it sound parameters and the chip will produce sounds according to these. You just solder it correctly and nothing more.

About the programmer, any willem one will do the job just fine, the only problem is that you will need a pc with a parallel port to use it (unless you pay more and get a usb programmer)
The cheapest I found is this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/261369810445 but personally I'd recommend you go to the next cheapest option instead: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/370974624078
If parallel port is a problem then you need something like this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/310423401316 which is completelly USB operated. I have this programmer and works perfect in win7/x64

edit: if you want a programmer just for this repro I can program them for you and send them over, you only need to provide the materials  Wink
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 11:47:06 AM by keropi » Logged
Elrinth
Famicom
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 96



WWW
« Reply #28 on: January 12, 2014, 01:37:02 PM »

I'm really thankful you could do this for me! I've got more projects I'd like to do so a eeprom programmer would be sweet to own.
I've got my eyes on a TL866 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/USB-MiniPro-TL866CS-Universal-BIOS-Programmer-EEPROM-FLASH-8051-AVR-GAL-PIC-SPI-/251290816206?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a82198ece)
The reason I select this one is because I saw it has Windows 8 support, and it's USB.
I might consider the TL866A aswell if it's a requirement: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MINI-PRO-USB-TL866A-UNIVERSAL-EEPROM-PROGRAMMER-ISP-ICSP-SPI-MCU-GAL-/121178338817?pt=UK_Computing_Other_Computing_Networking&hash=item1c36cab601

Here's TL866 support list: http://www.autoelectric.cn/minipro/MiniProSupportList.txt

Will this one work?
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 01:53:57 PM by Elrinth » Logged
keropi
Disk System
***
Gender: Male
Greece Greece
Posts: 137



« Reply #29 on: January 12, 2014, 02:06:16 PM »

Haven't use any of them but both work with 8bit eproms and eeproms that the famicom/nes needs. You shouldn't have any problems with any of the two.
BUT , only the expensive one says it supports win8 and 64bits OS so maybe you want to take that one...
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!